Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


Tentemba Jazz du Mali

Yankanimissa

I just got to get this off my chest: The Goldmine Rating System is for idiots and liars.

Record collectors are a nefarious bunch. It’s a moniker that I have generally shied away from, preferring music nerd. I am no vinyl purist. The only reason that I have return to the vinyl wonderland is that was the only way to find what I was looking for – which was something that was not available anywhere else. And I will admit that vinyl does sound the better than any of the other options – that is, if the vinyl is in good shape. But since I do not have to resources to travel the world scouring flea markets from Tokyo to Timbuktu, I have to rely on record dealers…

Now don’t get me wrong, there are some honorable dealers out there. In fact, the person who sold me this record has been known to throw an extra record or two in with my orders. But more than a few records have fallen short of their description. This record was listed as Very Good Plus, which is: “Cover suffers from folding, scuffing of edges, spine splits, discoloration… Now the signs of age and handling are starting to show. You can notice some clear wear on the surface, there is some noise (pops and crackles) but no skips or major warps”. Here’s the criteria of what classifies as Bad: “The cover and contents are badly damaged or partly missing. Cover can also be missing. The record does not play properly due to scratches, bad surface noise, etc… Unless it is something very rare it is not worth listing in this condition”. And there’s the catch – this record is rare. And due to the scarcity of the records like this one, I have learned to live with some fairly noisy recordings.

As for Tentemba Jazz du Mali, I do know that the band consisted of members Sékou Kanté – who later joined the Rail Band – Ousmane Diabaté and Amadou Touré. They released two albums in 1977 and one more in 1978. As far as I know, this was the second of only two singles that the band recorded.

If you have any information, please contact me.

Catalog number B B 229 on Badmos Records of Côte d’Ivoire, released 1977.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for this rarity – Radio Africa’s website (http://www.radioafrica.com.au/Discographies/Malian.html) lists one more single:
Yayoroba / Tassilimagan. Badmos. BB 190

I know you don’t normally do this, but any chance of hearing the flipside?

Comment by zim

Actually, I just found out that this single had been posted over at the impressive World Service blog – http://wrldsrv.blogspot.com/2009/06/badmos.html

Comment by radiodiffusion

I sympathize. This has clearly been played past death. Or maybe Badmos’ pressing plant was experimenting with sand and oatmeal extenders to address a scarcity of vinyl. Such a beautiful tune, though! Admittedly much easier to enjoy if you’re getting it for free and the phono stylus being ground down belongs to someone else. Thanks for trying!

Comment by Charlie Beesley

I just discovered your site via a recommendation on my Google reader. Thank you for sharing this tune; your effort and investment are appreciated. Coincidentally, your worldwide tour has come full cycle: I live exactly 5 minutes east and 3 “blocks” south of WSU Vancouver. Fusion 45

Comment by Fusion 45

Thanks.
Have you seen this?

http://orogod.blogspot.com/2010/01/super-tentemba-jazz-mali.html

Comment by NGONI




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

