Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


Pierre Didy Tchakounte

Monde Moderne

I have to admit, it is a wonderful time to be alive for music freaks like myself. Only a mere ten years ago, I had very little clue of what was out there. I had only really focused on the music of America and Europe. But thanks to a handful of compilations and reissues – and the Forced Exposure website – I was slowly led down the rabbit whole that resulted into the convoluted mess you see before you.

Now, there are plenty of arguments over royalties and copyrights… And yeah, that is a touchy subject – one I am not going to get into here. I will admit that trying to go thru the proper channels in reissuing this stuff, you would probably never get to hear this stuff – unless you were lucky enough to find a copy of the original vinyl yourself. And for that you have to accept that the rules do get bent a tad now and again.

But, I do take issue with someone taking material directly from this site. Yeah, I have been known to – oh, let’s say borrow – a phrase or two from other websites in my ramblings, but I try to at least link back to the original source. Where as it’s nice to be quoted, it’s an entirely different thing to have something you wrote printed as the liner notes of an album – and not properly credited, much less even being asked. I also suspect that a particular record company has taken audio files from this site and used them on their releases… But that is only a hunch.

Sorry. Just had to get that off my chest.

If you would like to find out more information about Pierre Didy Tchakounte, please check out this previous posting.

Catalog number SAF 1533 on Sonafric Records of Paris, France. No release date given.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Who used your words and mp3s for a release? I want to know because I want to make sure I never buy anything by that record label.

Comment by Ed Corcoran

Wow. That didn’t take long. I knew that someone was going to ask, but I didn’t think it would be this fast. Ten minutes.

I’m not going to name names, Not here, anyway.

Comment by radiodiffusion

I think it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due. You feel better. I usually paraphrase and link. If I’m “mashing up” poems or literature. I just put the authors’ names in the tags.

Is the resentment lightened at all by a sense of flattery?

Comment by Mark

thats wack u got jacked but dammit mang, why not just curate a record already & get yr steez out there. all yr friends are doing it, why can’t u. tehe. tiz a weird phenomenon but whenever i creep to india or singapore, boney m is always amongst the native schtuff & now i read they’re all over malaysia too. fuggin freaky ubiquity

Comment by benlaudanum

It does look like a number of tracks off of those “cazumbi” african garage compilations come from here – are they the folks who “reissued” your liner notes as well?

Comment by zimb




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

