Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


Barou Kante et L’Orchestre Les Messengers du Promhotel

Mori

Many of the records that finally find their way into my hands, have had a hard life. I would guess that at least a quarter of the records posted on the site are unplayable. They have scratches. They skip. Scuffs and cracks. Some even have pieces of the record that are missing. But with the use of various computer and turntable tricks, I can usually bring a track back from the dead. Usually…

Finding pristine copies of these records are practically impossible. Yeah, maybe if I travelled to these countries and was really really lucky. Don’t get me wrong, if I could I certainly would. I just don’t have that kind of budget. So due to the scarcity, I’ve learn to live with what I can get. Because, even if the record is beat – I still just want to hear it. I want to know what sounds are contained in that spiral groove.

Now… This record is near pristine – at least, to the naked eye. But, as you probably have already noticed, the audio track tells quite a different story. This record was not damaged by a previous owner or injured in transit. It was just pressed wrong. And the sonic surgery needed to bring this one back from the dead is beyond my expertise. Well, it’s not completely dead. But to EQ the particular frequency where the noise is, would also take out the guitar… Luckily, the noise fades out about two thirds in – just before the guitar solo.

I have not been able to find any information about Barou Kante or L’Orchestre Les Messengers du Promhotel. If you any information, please contact me or leave a comment.

Catalog number VDB 032 on Edition Volta Discobel of Ouagadougou, Upper Volta – now known as Burkina Faso. Pressed in Benin, no release date listed.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

An amazing song. I wonder if such a consistent ‘scuff’ sound can’t be simply EQ’d out?

Comment by Eman Nona

Thank you for reading my insane ramblings. Especially the entire third paragraph…

Comment by Radiodiffusion

fantastic updates as usual, thanks !

Comment by Vilmo

Hey !

I was wondernig the same, I have this record, and in the same condition… What a curse ! This song is totally insane !!!

How to remove those “woosh” ?

This blog is great, come on JamMagica blog too !

Comment by Ogoun Ferraille

It’s from 1976.
source : http://www.radioafrica.com.au/Discographies/Burkinabe.html

Comment by Youdidtherightthing

Hey !

I finally found a copy that don’t have this pressing default !

Comment by Ogoun Ferraille




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

