Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


The Mods
June 24, 2008, 7:26 pm
Filed under: Pakistan

Spring Dance

Bondure

The Mods were from Pakistan.

Apparently, there was a market for traditional music played on Western instruments. Not sure who this was being marketed to, either the indigenous population or foreign tourists. But there were a number of bands that released similar records, most notable being The Fore Thoughts, The Panthers and The Slihouettes. But who that market was remains a bit of a mystery.

Here’s the liner notes from the back cover:

This album “FOUR FOLK INSTRUMENTALS FROM PAKISTAN” is a beautiful collection of traditional oriental tunes, played on modern western instruments, by “THE MODS”. This is their first disc and judging from the masterly performance quite a lot of creative work is expected of this upcoming group of young and talented quintet.

I have not been able to find out any information about the band, or their composer / songwriter Mohammed Yousuf. As far as I know, this was their only recording. If you have any information, please contact me.

Since the initial posting, Garage Hangover has posted the entire single, and a scan of the back cover here.

Catalog number EKCE-20012 on The Gramophone Company of Pakistan Limited, a member of the EMI group of companies. No release date given.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brings back memories – now can again play on my guitar after the 70’s. Am living in Toronto now!

Comment by Mir Tehseen Ali Khan

It’s great to come across this web page. I have the Mods’ tunes on a casssette composed and arranged by Mohammad Yousuf. It is a different cassette and not the one shown in the above photo. I think the cassette has more tunes by the Mods. I am going to Karachi next month and will bring back the cassette. Mohammad Yousuf is a childhood friend of my father. He still lives in Karachi. Regards, Kamran

Comment by Kamran Sekha

yes kamran is my child hood friends son my realesed records are abstract panthers mods n songs composed by me

Comment by mohammedyousuf




Leave a comment