Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


Baba Kienou
June 1, 2021, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Côte d'Ivoire

Aladji Kanassoe

Now, where was I?

When I was invited to DJ at the Sublime Frequencies 15th anniversary shindig back in 2018, I started buying records again after a very long hiatus. At first, it was just a few here and there. Then, a few more… Before I knew it, I was back at it harder than ever. Eventually it dawned on me that I should start posting again. 

So much has changed during the last few years… First of which is the proliferation of Discogs. More addictive than crack for an OCD completeist like myself. I used to not know that an artist had three or four other singles. And that ignorance was bliss. But now I know! I know that they have those other releases – AND I NOW MUST SPEND EVERY WAKING MOMENT OBSESSING OVER TRACKING DOWN THOSE RECORDS.

Another thing that has changed is all of the amazing music blogs that have fallen by the wayside. Far East Audio? Gone. Psyche Van Het Folk? Gone. Quartertone Fusion? Gone. Voodoo Funk? Gone. Those blogs were the main source of information for many of my posts. The death of Adobe Flash player has rendered a few blogs like Waxidermy obsolete. YouTube has taken over. Instead of writing a post, just make a video. It really is mind boggling just how much music you can find there. But, there are a few other blogs out there that are still alive and kicking like Excavated Shellac and Monrakplengthai.

As for Baba Kienou… I got nothing. The only other copy of this single I’ve ever seen, I lost out on eBay about a decade ago. I saved the 39 second audio clip that was posted with the listing and it has been bouncing around in the back of my brain ever since. But I was finally able to track down a copy. And now I revel in thought that it’s going to be stuck in your brain as well. THAT is why I decided to come back.

Catalog number SHA 001 on Shakara Music of Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire in 1979.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

very glad to see you back, Stuart!

Comment by peterdoolan




Leave a comment