Radiodiffusion Internasionaal Annexe


ស៊ីន ស៊ីសាមុត
January 17, 2010, 3:43 am
Filed under: Cambodia

Fleur De Vientiane

As I have mentioned before, I sometimes regret having omitted Latin Music from the scope of this site. At the time I decided to start doing this, I thought that I was pretty sure I knew all that I needed to know about the subject. And I have since been proven wrong. There’s a vast amount of amazing material out there. But I really do not need an excuse to buy more records than I already do. Maybe one of these days when I feel that I’ve got the rest of the world taken care of, I will turn my attention to that region.

But the influence of Latin Music on the rest of the world is very evident. You can hear it in the Middle East in the music of Egypt‘s Salah Ragab and Iran‘s Manouchehr to South East Asia with Phoem Khlaibanleng & His International Mixed Mahori Orchestra of Thailand and the Non-Stop Dancing bands of Singapore with their cowbells and timbales… And of course, it can be heard in certain passages of Bollywood film songs (Really, what musical style has Bollywood not incorporated? Maybe Black Metal… But I’m not 100% sure on that.). But the biggest influence can be heard in Africa.

Congolese Rumba – or Soukous – was the most popular music for he majority of Sub-Saharan Africa. But you can hear elements of Latin Music in Nigerian Highlife, Guinean and Malian Manding Jazz, Ethiopian jazz

And would be remiss in not mentioning Santana… I think I’ve heard versions of either Black Magic Woman, Evil Woman or Oye Como Va from just about every corner of the globe.

There are two sites (That I know of – I’m willing to bet there’s a few more out there.) that cover the Latin Music that this site would cover – Garage Latino and Super Sonido.

You can find information on Sinn Sisamouth here.

Catalog number 45-5012 on Wat Phnom Disques of Cambodia. No release date listed.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you haven’t checked it out, this is a must visit site for Khmer Music

http://khmermusic.thecoleranch.com/

Comment by icastico

I never tire of this guy.

Comment by X.

I think it’s okay if you dont write much about latin music because there are plenty of great blogs and websites about this great music whereas there is so little about the music you’re talking about. One very nice genre rarely mentionned (on cd and in english, because there is a lot in spanish), its the old cumbia from Peru (with los destellos, los mirlos, juaneco…).

And why Latin music is so influential, I think it’s because it is like rock, blues and rap: a mix of european and west african music. So when a listener, often used to listen to afro-north-american music listen to latin-afro-american music, he’s not lost at all. Don’t you think?

Comment by Boebis

love love love this blog. thank you.

Comment by relevant keeler

Fantastic cover! Where on earth did you dig out this one??

Comment by brian

I bought this off some guy in Virginia for a buck fifty.

Comment by Radiodiffusion




Leave a comment